'Bridgerton' books in order: here's how to read Julia Quinn’s series properly

Start from the beginning: the 'Bridgerton' books in order showcase each family member's romantic life


Reading Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton books in order will keep your duke-loving heart occupied until Bridgerton season 2 hits Netflix

The Regency romance completely hooked readers from the get-go, and now we've become enchanted, from keeping up with the Bridgerton cast on social media to tracking down the real-life Bridgerton filming locations

But alas, we're still anxiously awaiting Daphne & Co to return to the sophomore installment, but until then we'll be busy digging into Quinn's beloved series in its original format. 

Julia Quinn’s first Bridgerton book, The Duke and I, hit bookshelves all the way back in 2000. Since then, each installment focuses on the love stories of the various Bridgerton siblings. 

And if that’s not enough romance and drama to satisfy you, the Rokesby series of four books serve as a prequel to the Bridgerton books. Plus, there are novellas! The new Bridgerton book pubbed in 2021, The Wit and Wisdom of Bridgerton: Lady Whistledown's Official Guide, is a  roundup of quotes that includes the most "dramatic, romantic, and memorable" lines from your favorite characters on the Netflix series, which needless to say is also a must.

And, as you might've guessed, the historical romance has unleashed a new love for the genre. If you're feeling inclined to find similar stories, there's a sexy Bridgerton-inspired audio experience that will perk your ears right up!

Happy reading, romance lovers!

The adaptation of the Bridgerton books is produced by the wonderful Shonda Rhimes, perhaps best known as the creator of Grey’s Anatomy and Scandal

Now with a confirmed season two (even if without the dreamy Duke of Hastings, a.k.a. Regé-Jean Page), it may just be worth diving into this historical series to see what extra drama, romance and intrigue you can expect.

How to read the 'Bridgerton' books in order

1. 'THE DUKE & I'

This first installment in the Bridgerton book series inspired the popular show. The Duke and I tells the story of the romance between the fourth oldest Bridgerton sibling Daphne (played by Phoebe Dynevor) and Simon Bassett, Duke of Hastings. 

Daphne and Simon enter into a fake courtship to help her garner more interest from suitors and to help him evade marriage-minded society mothers. But it soon becomes clear that genuine feelings have blossomed between them.

by Julia Quinn: View on Amazon

The Duke & I by Julia Quinn: View on Amazon  


The oldest Bridgerton sibling, Anthony, has been the head of the family since his father died, taking care of all responsibilities. Now he is London’s most famous bachelor, but then he decides it’s time to find a suitable match. 

Anthony soon meets the perfect person, but a lady named Kate soon becomes a distraction as she seeks to stop the betrothal, all the while capturing Anthony’s imagination. But who is Kate in Bridgerton? This book will inspire the show's second season.

by Julia Quinn: View on Amazon

The Viscount Who Loved Me by Julia Quinn: View on Amazon


Sophia Beckett never imagined she’d be able to make it into Lady Bridgerton's famed masquerade ball and find her very own "Prince Charming." As the illegitimate daughter of an earl, Sophia’s story is a classic Cinderella tale—with a twist. 

After meeting the family’s second-oldest son, Benedict, she falls in love with him, only to flee at midnight. Their romance then picks up years later after a chance encounter.

by Julia Quinn: View on Amazon

An Offer From a Gentleman by Julia Quinn: View on Amazon 


Penelope Featherington has long had feelings for Colin Bridgerton. And after returning to town after being abroad, their once platonic relationship now has the chance to turn into something more. 

When he discovers that Penelope has her own secrets, however, he must decide if she is a threat—or the happy ever after he’s hoping for. 

by Julia Quinn: View on Amazon

Romancing Mr Bridgerton by Julia Quinn: View on Amazon


After having rejected multiple proposals, headstrong Eloise Bridgerton is a spinster. However, after exchanging letters with a distant relative and widower, Sir Phillip—who proposes to her—marriage could be on the cards after all. The only problem is, they’ve not yet met in person... 

by Julia Quinn: View on Amazon

To Sir Phillip, With Love by Julia Quinn: View on Amazon 


Michael Stirling was London’s most notorious rake—until, that is, he saw Francesca Bridgerton. 

After a lifetime of chasing women, he fell hopelessly in love with her. But when she married his cousin, it seemed he’d lost the chance to tell her how he felt. Now, years later, she is widowed and Michael may have his chance all over again. 

by Julia Quinn: View on Amazon

To Sir Phillip, With Love by Julia Quinn: View on Amazon  


Beautiful, outspoken Hyacinth is the youngest of the Bridgerton siblings. Though she and Gareth St Clair are often at odds with one another, a mysterious diary seemingly begins to bring them together.

by Julia Quinn: View on Amazon

It's In His Kiss by Julia Quinn: View on Amazon 


Gregory Bridgerton is a true romantic, though he finds himself in a love triangle when he recruits Lucy to help him win the affections of her best friend Hermione. 

It’s not long before Lucy falls for Gregory herself, though she’s engaged. By the time he realizes he returns her feelings, she’s walking down the aisle. 

by Julia Quinn: View on Amazon

On The Way To The Wedding by Julia Quinn: View on Amazon 


This bonus edition of the Bridgerton series was published to give fans an update on the siblings’ lives after marriage. The collection of second epilogues gives a sneak peek into their lives following their initial stories. 

by Julia Quinn: View on Amazon

The Bridgertons: Happily Ever After by Julia Quinn:View on Amazon 

Be sure to stock your shelves according and catch Bridgerton season 2 on March 25 on Netflix!

Emma Shacklock

Emma is a Senior Lifestyle Writer with five years experience working in digital publishing, ranging from book publishing to magazines. She currently looks after all things Lifestyle for Woman&Home, GoodToKnow and My Imperfect Life.

Before she joined Future Publishing, Emma graduated from the University of Warwick with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English and Comparative Literary Studies. After leaving education, she started out her publishing career in the world of books, working as a Publisher for an independent digital publisher specializing in back-list and debut commercial fiction novels. With a huge book list and a passion for bringing the best stories to the broadest audience possible, Emma filled her spare time with reading the latest best-sellers and catching up on hit adaptations.

In 2017 she joined TI Media as a fiction writing coordinator on Woman’s Weekly and Woman’s Weekly Fiction as part of the features team. From here, she used her love of books, working to bring short stories to our dedicated readers and began writing for the books pages of Woman, Woman’s Own and Woman&Home, as well as online features ranging from genre round-ups to travel pieces for womanandhome.com.

After honing her skills, Emma branched out online in 2020 when Future gave her the opportunity to focus on digital-first. When she’s not writing about the next big lifestyle trend, she enjoys cooking, long walks and watching as many crime dramas as she can!

With contributions from